Crock Pot Mongolian Beef

crockpotmogolianbeef

I spent too much time debating whether to call this “Crock Pot Mongolian Beef” or “Slow Cooker Mongolian Beef”. I finally decided that since I own an actual Crock Pot, I’d stick with that. If you’ve got, flaunt it. I should spend more time figuring out why my Instagram food photos look fine on my phone, but awful on my computer. I wind up using the originals for here. I might need to lay off the filters for awhile.

Anyways, on to the recipe! I’ve noticed the most hectic grocery store in my area frequently has lean cuts of beef for under $4/lb, so now I feel I can afford to eat red meat! This recipe is inspired by my friend Faith who made a Mongolian Beef Soup in college that was the most amazing thing in the world. Every few years I ask her about the recipe, but crazy enough, as time goes on, she does not gain recollection of the ingredients! I’m hoping if I bug her enough, she’ll be inspired to recreate it and write it all down this time.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb London broil
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 tsp ginger*
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 pound frozen stir-fry vegetables**
  • 1 cup Basmati rice

*I used Trader Joe’s Ginger Stir-In Paste
** I used the Birds Eye Snap Pea Stir Fry with Sugar Snap Peas, Carrots, Onions, Mushrooms

Directions

  1. Slice the London broil into strips
  2. Put the steak, brown sugar, soy sauce, garlic, ginger, sesame oil and water into the Crock-Pot. Stir everything together and cook on low for 3 hours. (You could also cook on high for 90 min)
  3. After the Crock-Pot is done, add the frozen vegetables and cook on LOW for 30-45min.
  4. While the vegetables are in the Crock-Pot, make the rice. Just follow the directions on the bag. I like to toss in a sprinkle of Sazon Complete Mix Seasoning. I was looking on the Goya website and could not find a picture of my seasoning to find the exact name, so I got up and looked in the cabinet. To my horror, I have generic sazon which is why I couldn’t find a picture on the Goya website. And after I talked all that shit about having a Crock-Pot and not a slow cooker.

Plate and serve!

Macros!
Calories: 439
Carbs: 57
Protein: 29
Fat: 9
Fiber: 3

*Serves 4

Leave a Reply

